Dr. Martin Abrahamson, M.D.

Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs, Joslin Diabetes Center; Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Martin J. Abrahamson, MD, is Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Chief Medical Officer and Senior Vice President of the Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston, Massachusetts. He received his medical degree from University of Cape Town in Cape Town, South Africa, and completed his internship and residency in internal medicine and endocrinology at Groote Schuur Hospital, also in Cape Town, where he was a research fellow before joining the faculty of medicine at the University of Cape Town and Groote Schuur Hospital.  Dr. Abrahamson was joint head of the endocrine unit in Cape Town before taking up a faculty appointment at Harvard Medical School and Beth Israel Hospital in 1992.  At Joslin Clinic, Dr. Abrahamson is credited with reorganizing the Adult Diabetes Section into multidisciplinary teams comprised of physicians, nurse practitioners, nurse educators, nutritionists, and exercise physiologists.  He is spearheading “pathways of care” for patients referred to Joslin (JoslinCare), has co-authored guidelines for both the pharmacological and perioperative management of patients with diabetes and management of hyperglycemic emergencies, and has authored more than 50 papers, review articles and chapters related to diabetes.  At Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Dr. Abrahamson serves as Director of the Division of Continuing Medical Education in the Department of Medicine.  Dr. Abrahamson’s research interests include the management of patients with diabetes, and prevalence of silent coronary ischemia in patients with diabetes.  Dr. Abrahamson is board certified in internal medicine and in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism, and is a Fellow of the College of Physicians of South Africa.  He has been cited in Boston Magazine as one of Boston’s top doctors on numerous occasions and has delivered numerous invited lectures nationally and internationally on the management of diabetes.  In 2010 he was the recipient of the Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for contributions to Diabetes from the American College of Physicians.