Oct 21
Clinton Presidential Center

State of the Arts: Innovation in Arts and Humanities Education

2 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. | Clinton Presidential Center
Join Kennedy Center president Deborah Rutter and a distinguished panel of Arkansas educators and artistic directors to discuss national trends in teaching the arts and humanities, while exploring new ways to give Arkansas schools access to combined national and local resources.
While no single cultural institution in Arkansas can match the reach & multi-disciplinary offerings of The Kennedy Center, we have many of the same resources distributed across multiple institutions. Educators and arts advocates from across the state are invited to participate in this very important conversation about the transformation of arts and humanities education in Arkansas through deeper collaboration between these institutions. 
The program will include two engaging panels. All attendees are invited to participate in both panels.
Educator Discussion Panelists
  • Joy Pennington ( Moderator ), Executive Director, Arkansas Arts Council
  • Zinse Aggine, Teaching Artist and Musician
  • Jama Best, Senior Program Officer, Arkansas Humanities Council
  • Dr. Jeff Grubbs, Associate Professor, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • Lana Hallmark, Fine Arts Coordinator, Arkansas Department of Education
  • Melanie Landum, Executive Director, Arkansas A+ Schools
  • Dr. Lenore Shoults, Executive Director, The Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas
Institution Discussion Panelists
  • Dr. Todd Herman  ( Moderator ), Executive Director, Arkansas Arts Center
  • Sericia Cole, Director, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center
  • Robert Hupp, Producing Artistic Director, Arkansas Repertory Theatre
  • Philip Mann, Music Director, Arkansas Symphony
  • Deborah Rutter, President, The Kennedy Center
  • Stephanie S. Streett, Executive Director, Clinton Foundation
Admission is free and professional credit will be given to those teachers in attendance. 
This event is hosted by the Clinton Foundation; President's Advisory Committee on the Arts member, Kaki Hockersmith; Mid-America Arts Alliance; Donna and Mack McLarty; and the Stella Boyle Smith Trust.