Before You Apply

President Clinton and Chelsea Clinton will host the ninth annual CGI U meeting from April 1-3, 2016 at the University of California, Berkeley in the San Francisco Bay Area. More than $750,000 in funding will be available to select CGI U 2016 students through the University Network and other opportunities to help them turn their ideas into action.

You can apply as an individual or a group at the link below:

CGI U 2016 Application

Early Decision and Travel Assistance application deadline: October 16, 2015.

Final application deadline: December 1, 2015.

Students must be 18 years of age or older and enrolled in an institution of higher education at the time of the CGI U meeting in order to apply. To be considered for admission, all applicants are required to design a Commitment to Action in one of CGI U's five focus areas: Education, Environment and Climate Change, Peace and Human Rights, Poverty Alleviation, and Public Health. All invited attendees will be notified by late December 2015.

To learn more about the CGI U application process, students can review the CGI U commitments mapapplication tips, and application checklistClick here for more information about funding opportunities for student commitment-makers.

Have questions? Join us for online information sessions during any of the times listed below. In these webinars, you will have a chance to learn more about CGI U, the application process, and CGI U 2016 at UC Berkeley. Connect to the session 5 minutes prior to the start via the following link:

  • Wednesday, September 23, 2015, 9:00am ET
  • Thursday, October 01, 2015, 6:00pm ET
  • Wednesday, October 07, 2015, 9:00pm ET
  • Wednesday, October 14, 2015, 6:00pm ET
  • Wednesday, October 21, 2015, 6:00pm ET
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2015, 9:00am ET
  • Wednesday, November 04, 2015, 6:00pm ET
  • Thursday, November 12, 2015, 6:00pm ET
  • Wednesday, November 18, 2015, 6:00pm ET
  • Monday, November 23, 2015, 9:00am ET
  • Saturday, November 28, 2015, 9:00pm ET
  • Monday, November 30, 2015, 6:00pm ET

If you have any questions and are unable to attend a webinar session, please call 212.710.4492 or email